Mackintosh wins Theakston Crime Novel of the Year…

by Natasha Onwuemezi

Clare Mackintosh has scooped the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award for her first thriller I Let You Go (Sphere). Meanwhile, Val McDermid was honoured for her outstanding contribution to crime fiction.

Mackintosh was presented the award by title sponsor Simon Theakston and broadcaster Mark Lawson tonight (21st July) at the opening night of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival. Mackintosh collected a £3,000 cash prize, as well as a handmade, engraved oak beer cask made by Theakston Old Peculier.

Mackintosh spent 12 years in the police force, including time on CID, and as a public order commander. She left the police in 2011 and now writes full time.
Mackintosh beat off competition from the five other shortlisted titles which were Rain Dogs by Adrian McKinty (Serpent’s Tail), Career Of Evil by Robert Galbraith (Sphere), Time Of Death by Mark Billingham (Sphere), Tell No Tales by Eva Dolan (Harvill Secker) and Disclaimer by Renee Knight (Black Swan).

A special presentation was made to Val McDermid – the winner of the seventh Theakston Old Peculier Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award. McDermid joins Sara Paretsky, Lynda La Plante, Ruth Rendell, PD James, Colin Dexter and Reginald Hill as recipients of the prize.

McDermid said: “It’s an honour and a thrill to receive this award. The community of writers and readers at the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival is unlike any other in its warmth and generosity and so this means a huge amount to me. This year sees the publication of my 30th novel and I can’t think of a better way to celebrate that.”

Read the full article on the Bookseller website…

Douglas Skelton is on the final list for Scottish Crime Book of the Year…

CUMNOCK Chronicle editor-turned crime author Douglas Skelton will be rubbing shoulders with the elite of Scottish writers as a contender for a top award.

He is one of 10 authors who have made the final candidates for Scottish Crime Book of the Year, a list chosen by an independent panel of readers, for his book Open Wounds.

Among the competition are illustrious names such as Stuart MacBride, Val McDermid and Chris Brookmyre.

Read more…

Galbraith, McDermid and Child make Dead Good Reader shortlists…

Published June 17, 2016 by Katherine Cowdrey – The Bookseller

The Dead Good Reader Awards shortlists have been announced, featuring Val McDermid, Lee Child and Peter James along with Robert Galbraith, C L Taylor and Stuart MacBride.

The six awards, created in collaboration with the Dead Good community to celebrate “unique elements” in crime writing, are nominated and voted for by readers that will be presented at the Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate in July.

Up for The Dead Good Recommends Award for Most Recommended Book is Career of Evil (Little, Brown), the third novel by J K Rowling’s pseudonym “Robert Galbraith”; Die of Shame (Little, Brown) by Mark Billingham, also a recent finalist for the Crime Writers’ Association Dagger in the Library; psychological thriller In Her Wake (Orenda) by Amanda Jennings; The Missing (Avon) by C L Taylor, described by Fiona Barton to have “an agonising twist”; Tastes Like Fear (Headline) by former bookseller Sarah Hilary who won Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year 2015; and debut Untouchable Things (Legend Press) by Tara Guha, which was authored on the 2014 Luke Bitmead Bursary.   
The Tess Gerritsen Award for Best Series shortlists the Jack Reacher series by Lee Child, who recently confirmed he would be continuing the series under a new contract with Transworld to fans’ delight, and the Roy Grace series by Peter James, who is on his 11th novel in the series Want You Dead (Macmillan). Also shortlisted are Sarah Hilary’s Marnie Rome (Headline), Stuart MacBride’s Logan McRae (HarperCollins), Elly Griffiths’ Ruth Galloway (Quercus) and Marnie Riches’ George Mackenzie (Maze) series.

Read more…

« Older Entries Newer Entries »

Category: Awards (page 6 of 11)