Val’s latest NEW novel…

Broken Ground

Broken Ground by Val McDermid

Number one bestseller Val McDermid returns with Karen Pirie drawn to the heart of a murder she thought she’d already prevented.

Alice Somerville’s inheritance lies six feet under in a Highland peat bog – a pair of valuable vintage motorbikes buried by her grandfather at the end of World War II. But when Alice finally organises their recovery, she finds an unwelcome surprise -a body with a pair of bullet holes . . . and Nike trainers. DCI Karen Pirie of Police Scotland’s Historic Cases Unit is called in to unravel a case where nothing is quite as it seems.

Meanwhile an overheard conversation in a cafe draws Karen to the heart of a murder she thought she’d already prevented.

As Karen gets closer to the several truths, it becomes clear that not everyone shares her desire for justice. Or even the idea of what justice is.

More details…

Publisher: Little, BrownLiterary agent: Gregory & Company
Publishing date UK: August 23rd 2018
Publishing date US: December 2018

Buy This Book

Buy this book from Amazon

iBookstoreshop local online

Order of books in series:

Books featuring Tony Hill/Carol Jordan

Book 1 –The Mermaids Singing (HarperCollins, 1995)

Book 2 –The Wire in the Blood (HarperCollins, 1997)

Book 3 –The Last Temptation (HarperCollins, 2002)

Book 4 –The Torment of Others (HarperCollins, 2004)

Book 5 –Beneath the Bleeding (HarperCollins, 2007)

Book 6 –Fever of the Bone (HarperCollins, 2009)

Book 7 –The Retribution (HarperCollins, 2011)

Book 8 –Cross and Burn (HarperCollins, 2013)

Book 9 –Splinter The Silence (Little, Brown Book Group, 2015)

Book 10–Insidious Intent (Little, Brown Book Group, 2017)

Books featuring Kate Brannigan

Book 1 –Dead Beat (Gollancz, 1992)

Book 2 –Kick Back (Gollancz, 1993)

Book 3 –Crack Down (HarperCollins, 1994)

Book 4 –Clean Break (HarperCollins, 1995)

Book 5 –Blue Genes (HarperCollins, 1996)

Book 6 –Star Struck (HarperCollins, 1998)

Books featuring Lindsay Gordon

Book 1 –Report for Murder (Womens Press 1987)

Book 2 –Common Murder (Women’s Press, 1989)

Book 3 –Final Edition (Women’s Press, 1991)

Book 4 –Union Jack/Conferences are Murder (US) (Women’s Press, 1993)

Book 5 –Booked for Murder  (Women’s Press, 1996)

Book 6 –Hostage to Murder (Harper Collins, 2003)

Books featuring Karen Pirie

Book 1 –The Distant Echo (HarperCollins, 2003)

Book 2 –A Darker Domain (HarperCollins, 2008)

Book 3 –The Skeleton Road (Little, Brown, 2014)

Book 4 –Out of Bounds (Little, Brown, 2016)

Book 5 –Broken Ground (Little, Brown, 2018)

My Granny is a Pirate

Val’s Picture Book For Children…

My Granny is a Pirate

When a family secret about Granny is revealed, we discover all about her fiercesome pirate reputation and her swashbuckling ways – from making other rogueish pirates walk the plank to singing sea shanties to her dog, Jolly Roger.

More details…

Publisher: OrchardLiterary agent: Gregory & Company

Publishing date UK: 05 January 2012