Books by Val McDermid
Val’s latest Book – 2nd in her new series, Allie Burns
Hardcover Publication date in UK: 18 August 2022

1979 Book Cover


1989. The world is changing, and Allie Burns is still on the front line, covering the stories that count.

Although Allie is no longer an investigative journalist, her instincts are sharper than ever. When she discovers a lead about the exploitation of society’s most vulnerable, Allie is determined to give a voice to those who have been silenced.

As Allie edges closer to exposing the truth, she travels behind the Iron Curtain, to East Berlin on the brink of revolution. The dark heart of the story is more shocking than she ever imagined. And to tell it, Allie must risk her freedom and her life . . .

This is the atmospheric, heart-pounding first novel in a gripping new series by the Queen of Crime Val McDermid…

More details…

Series: Allie Burns Series (book 2)
UK Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Literary agent: David Higham Associates
Publication date UK: 18 August 2022

Buy This Book

Buy this book from Amazon

iBookstoreshop local online

All Books By Val McDermid

Order of books in series:

  • Book 1 – 1979 (Little, Brown Book Group, 2021)
  • Book 2 – 1989 (Little, Brown Book Group, 2022)

Stand-alone Titles

My Granny is a Pirate

Val’s Picture Book For Children…

My Granny is a Pirate

When a family secret about Granny is revealed, we discover all about her fiercesome pirate reputation and her swashbuckling ways – from making other rogueish pirates walk the plank to singing sea shanties to her dog, Jolly Roger.

More details…

Publisher: Orchard

Literary agent: Gregory & Company

Publishing date UK: 05 January 2012

Val McDermid